Fun With Bullets

-Seven games.  That’s it.  All the Twins have to do is win seven games and they’re in the World Series for the first time since 1991.  But, of course, as fate would have it, the first three of those seven wins need to come against the Yankees, or as I like to call them, the Anti-Twins.  Not only are they the polar opposite of everything the Twins are, (big market, insanely high budget, completely unlikeable outside of their tri-state area), but they seem to be the team we always run into problems with.  It’s like running into some kind of giant brick road block every time we play them, and it makes me nervous that we have to play them in the first round of the playoffs.  Again.  It seems as though we can’t escape them. All I can say is that if Jeter fakes getting hit by a pitch again like he did a few weeks ago, I’m going to go down there and give him something to cry about.

We know it hit the bat, jackass.

-Phil Mickelson was especially disappointing this weekend in the Ryder Cup.  The U.S. lost 14½ to 13½ in Wales, and Phil won only one of his four matches.  He now has lost 17 matches in Ryder Cup history, which is the most of any U.S. player ever.  I’m not saying he doesn’t deserve to be there, but I don’t think the style and format of the Ryder Cup match up well with Phil’s skill set.  Would it break my heart if he wasn’t on the team in two years?  Nope.

-The weather lately has been impeccable.  I mean, really choice stuff.  Mid 60’s to low 70’s and sunny with a side of cool autumn breeze?  Yes, please.  The fact that it’s been gorgeous for the past two weeks only means that we’re roughly 10 days away from getting completely donkey punched with cold and rain.  In Minnesota, we are only ever set up like this to be promptly knocked down.

-As much as I complain about not liking Facebook, I came across this link recently, and I’m not going to lie … I laughed out loud.

-Speaking of douchey social media websites, Twitter co-founder and CEO Evan Williams resigned today.  To comment on this news, I am going to channel my inner Seth Meyers and bring this story to you as if I were on SNL Weekend Update.  Here goes … Although he noted that he was proud of the site’s progress over the past two years, Williams seemed disappointed that it has yet to be turned into a profitable endeavor.  Prior to his resignation, Williams tweeted two final times:

@EvanWilliams

What does Facebook have that we don’t?  We have 160 million registered users, how can we NOT make money? Plus, only using 140 characters is
-8:14 AM October 4th via Twitter for iPhone

Screw this, I quit.
-8:16 AM October 4th via Twitter for iPhone

One love,

10

Explore posts in the same categories: Life, Sports

7 Comments on “Fun With Bullets”

  1. c Says:

    We’re gonna win Twins, we’re gonna score! We’re gonna win Twins watch that baseball soar. Knock out a home run, shout a hip HOORAY! Cheer for the Minnesota Twins today!

  2. BeachBum Says:

    With the Red Sox toast, I’m officially a Twins fan. If Karma does exist, Jeter will really get hit and break his wrist in his first playoff at bat.

  3. ThePowerOf10 Says:

    Chels, I love the enthusiasm.

    Beach, it’s nice to have you aboard. Prepare to get your heart broken by the Yankees … again.

  4. JK Says:

    The years the Twins seem to have a shot at the yanks coming into the series we usually get killed. So maybe since this year it already doesn’t look good, we will pull it off. Only thing I could come up with to give me hope.

  5. ThePowerOf10 Says:

    That’s a great point. I don’t think I can ever envision a series in which we’re going into it favored over the Yankees … and we actually win. We’re going to have to sneak up on them.

  6. kos Says:

    Not sure I can handle another Twins loss. Consider me on suicide watch if they lose.


  7. how are you!This was a really terrific website!
    I come from itlay, I was fortunate to discover your Topics in bing
    Also I learn a lot in your website really thanks very much i will come later


Leave a Reply

